Guest Post: Jay Wilburn #WinterofZombie

Posted: November 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

Dying Days

Dead Song Book 2 front cover

Winter of Zombie 2015

Familiar Characters – Same, But Different

by Jay Wilburn

I worry a little bit about creating my characters. It stresses me a little less in a short story. I can let them explode out on the page and usually build the dimensions I need in a short space. In longer works, I stress a little more. I typically end up with a bigger cast. I want them all to want something. Even if some of them are working toward similar goals, I want them to be different and speak differently – act differently. I want them to be realistic, but sometimes what makes characters real is difficult to sell on the page.

I wrote a post on social media earlier about my struggle to write realistic, flawed characters. Flawed characters are interesting characters. This is because all people are broken in small and big ways to…

View original post 856 more words

Leave a Reply

