Guest Post: Larry Weiner #WinterofZombie

Posted: November 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

Dying Days

PR THUMBNAIL CREATESPACE copy 2

SUBVERTING A GENRE CAN BE A BLAST

When I set out to write “Paradise Rot,” I had a few things in mind. First, I wanted to play around with the zombie genre ala “Shaun of the Dead,” and I wanted to create an island escape – much like you’d find in a Jimmy Buffett song. But that wasn’t enough. No, I wanted to take a character and put him through hell. I wanted this character, our hapless protagonist, to feel the burn of hitting rock bottom. Why?

Because it’s only from that position in life that you’d be game for anything.

So that’s when I started thinking about the movie, “The Firm.” If you haven’t seen it, it’s basically about a lawyer who gets his first gig and as it turns out, it’s working for the mob and the only way out is by death. I thought to myself, what…

View original post 680 more words

Leave a Reply

